Ivy Exec
49 W38th Street, Floor 12A New York NY 10016
Customer Support 1 (888) 551-3444 Toll Free
Customer Support (212) 431-3969
Elena Bajic
2006

(20)

5 stars

(39)

4 stars

(10)

3 stars

(13)

2 stars

(3)

1 star

Recommend to a friend

66%

Say this is a great place to work

78%

Proud to have on resume

79%

2019-02-01

Former Employee - Principal/VP/Director

Employee owned local consulting model

2019-02-01

Former Employee - Principal/VP/Director

A challenger and contender

2019-01-22

Current Employee - Senior Associate/Consultant

Slalom is a great place to work and it has a very entrepreneurial spirit. Your ideas will be heard and our culture is very inclusive, which makes it a very creative and fun workplace.

2019-01-22

Current Employee - Senior Associate/Consultant

At Slalom, we take our core values seriously. We use them to guide how we work and interact with our clients and each other. They're not a list of words that sit in a binder on a shelf. They're an active part of everything we do. Our core values remind us to stay true to ourselves while we continue to drive amazing outcomes for our clients. Our core values include: - Do what is right, always. - Drive connection & teamwork. - Take ownership. Get it done. - Inspire passion & adventure. - Focus on outcomes. - Celebrate authenticity. - Fuel growth & innovation. - Stay humble & curious. - Shape & build a better future.

2019-01-22

Current Employee - Senior Associate/Consultant

I think Slalom has a strong reputation in the market, especially once clients have had a chance to work with us and get to know our culture and our people. We work hard on our customer love metrics and strive for continuous improvement for ourselves, but also to make sure our clients are in a better place once we have completed a project for them.

2019-02-06

Current Employee - Senior Associate/Consultant

The culture is incredible, great pay considering no travel (for me at least)

2019-02-06

Current Employee - Senior Associate/Consultant

The fun, the collaboration, and people's willingness to support you!

2019-02-06

Current Employee - Senior Associate/Consultant

In Denver, strong.

2019-01-23

Current Employee - Senior Associate/Consultant

Amazing work life balance, get to work on cool projects with smart co-workers

2019-01-23

Current Employee - Senior Associate/Consultant

Ability to choose your projects, informal, multiple team events, personalized gifts from executives

2019-01-23

Current Employee - Senior Associate/Consultant

Very good

2019-01-08

Former Employee - Senior Associate/Consultant

It's a 4k person firm that still operates like a small local shop. If you're a hard charger, HiPo consultant, you will quickly either ram against the informal glass ceiling that protects the long-running cliques that run the head office in Seattle and the various local offices. The firm's narrative is around work-life balance and yet the % of turnover among employees with children is higher than industry average. In short, they will squeeze whatever value they can and not develop the individual nor consistently reward outperformance.

2019-01-08

Former Employee - Senior Associate/Consultant

Tribal to the core. If you decide to ignore these results and apply, your best strategy is to mimic the local MDs. Typically, that means being an alcoholic golfer.

2019-01-08

Former Employee - Senior Associate/Consultant

Local, boutique, third-tier.

2019-02-07

Former Employee - Principal/VP/Director

They advertise as a consulting firm but most all projects are staff augmentation roles. I would only recommend this caveat.

2019-02-07

Former Employee - Principal/VP/Director

They strive to be an inclusive and diverse culture but senior leadership is still very homogeneous.

2019-02-07

Former Employee - Principal/VP/Director

They have an excellent market perception. They spend a significant amount of time encouraging employees to fill out survey's (e.g. best place to work) in order to bolster their reputation. Unfortunately, the market reputation is not indicative of how the company actually operates.

2019-02-07

Current Employee - Principal/VP/Director

There are a few reasons here are some top ones: They are different in vision and values, however in execution there are misalignment (e.g. a huge emphasis on utilization as one of the if not the most important factor - this is important but even vacation is counted against that metric). Second for being focused on employees including diversity I found it shocking that it has been the only company I have had in my 20+ years that only has 7 holidays (actually 6 plus a floater) - no presidents day, no martin luther king, and many more. There have a great set of training yet not really a good in field support system (relies on project/account team). At executive leadership level even less coverage for new folks in the first 6-9 months so make sure you are prepared to have a bit of limited guidance or support. There are many other firms that are mid size and local that would be better fits for most people interested in consulting careers. I think Slalom used to be a great player with a great focus on employees and how to build great relationships with customers, now they are more and more looking like the big SI consulting firms in almost everyway except trying to keep a focus on local markets.

2019-02-07

Current Employee - Principal/VP/Director

Focus on local clients and keeping people relatively local (some people have long commute times and does not seem to factor into staffing). Do what is right always and in good interest of the client (very good about this). Willing to walk away from work that is not in best interest to the customer or Slalom (in a good way being honest and transparent to the customer). Focused on building skills through training (but counts against utilization) Unfortunate obsession with utilization including over 15 factors on what is and what is not considered utilization. Recently saw an employee influenced to take time off without pay so as not to affect their practice area and leader metrics for utilization (VERY messed up that someone would feel like they needed to do this vs. training or non-chargeable work).

2019-02-07

Current Employee - Principal/VP/Director

Very strong reputation. Built on great delivery, focus on client's individual objectives, focus on customer organization's objectives, focus on connecting experts to clients beyond client team solely, very experienced consultants - most have over 5 years of experience.